List of staff

Head of Master Interior Architecture (INSIDE)

Profile photo Hans Venhuizen, Head of Master Interior Architecture INSIDE at the Royal Academy of Art, The Hague

Hans Venhuizen

Hans Venhuizen deals with the culture of spatial planning. Venhuizen advances a broad understanding of culture that encompasses cultural history, heritage, architecture and art, as well as the culture of the current residents of a region and the idiosyncrasy of a place. In his search for a more specific identity for cities and areas, Venhuizen links the worlds of culture and space to each other in different ways. In this, his focus is always on the culture of spatial planning itself, and the game is his most important instrument. The relation between playfulness and seriousness is a key feature in all of Venhuizen's projects. The game is capable of involving participants in an assignment on an equal basis. Moreover, it simplifies complex situations, reveals the wishes and interests of those involved, and provides pleasure in uncertain processes of change.

Short selection of projects: GAME URBANISM publication 2010, AUTONIA the culture of cars 2014-2015, LEGENDA Gesellschaft für exploratieve Landeskunde 2010-2015, GASTGASTGEBER Ruhr Area Germany 2010, THE MAKING OF concept development game for several clients 2001-2018, PARQUETRY LANDSCAPE Almere NL 2009, DES BEEMSTERS NL 2005-2010, DOING AS IF playground Hilversum NL 2006, AMPHIBIOUS LIVING competition/publication 2000

In 2016 Hans Venhuizen started a PhD research at the PhDArts institute (Leiden University/KABK). The title of the research is 'The Game of Continuity" and centres on the culture of spatial planning.


Core team

Recent guest tutors

Jack Bardwell
Frans Bevers
Lyke Bijlsma
Ledian Bregasi
Doepelstrijkers - Eline Strijkers
Bogomir Doringer
Gert Dumbar
Cocky Eek & Renske Maria van Dam
Kie Ellens
Bram Esser
Mary Farwy
Maaike Fransen
Mauricio Freyre
Ana Maria Gomez Lopez
Studio Frank Havermans
David Helbich
Marco Henssen
Frank Hemeltjen
Arne Hendriks
Studio Florentijn Hofman
Hans Jungerius
Astrid Kaag
Ira Koers
Paul Kuipers
Alexandra Landré
Pascal Lazarus - La Bonneterie
Wesley Leeman - Goldsmith Company
Tjyying Liu
Arna Mačkić
Charlotte Martin - Woodstone Kugelblitz
Seyed Masoud Mosavizade
Shirin Mirachor
Joop Mulder
Jeroen Musch
MVRDV – Fokke Moerel, Aser Giménez Ortega, Mick van Gemert, Elien deCeuninck
NL Architects - Kamiel Klaase
Dirk Osinga
Marina Otero
Raumlaborberlin – Markus Bader, Axel Timm
REFUNC – Denis Oudendijk
Leeke Reinders
Vincent de Rijk
Sébastien Robert
Kevin Rogan
Louise Schouwenberg
Marcel Smink
Studio Makkink & Bey - Chester Chuang
Superuse Studios – Lizanne Dirkx, Jan Jongert
Benno Tempel and Suzanne Lambooy – Kunstmuseum Den Haag
Thomas Thwaites
Mark Veldman - OMA
Lucas Verweij
Esther de Vries
Tim de Vos
Neeltje ten Westenend
Francien van Westrenen
Yang Zhang - KAAN Architecten
Peter Zuiderwijk