The Royal Academy of Art and the Royal Conservatoire together form the University of the Arts The Hague.

Organisation chart Royal Academy of Art, The Hague
Organisation chart Royal Academy of Art, The Hague


The director of the academy is Marieke Schoenmakers. She is also president of the Executive Board of the University of the Arts The Hague.

Deputy Director Education is Miriam Bestebreurtje.

Academy- and Management secretariat
For an appointment with the director or deputy director education please contact the executive secretary Georgia Charitopoulou.


The department heads are responsible for the educational programme of their department. Together they guard the quality of the education and make sure the contents of the programme stay up to date. The department heads are assisted by one or more coordinators and supervise a team of teachers.

The heads of the bachelor programmes are:

ArtScience: Taco Stolk
Fine Arts: Klaus Jung
Photography: Lotte Sprengers & Rob Hornstra
Graphic Design: Roosje Klap & Niels Schrader
Interactive Media Design: Janine Huizenga
Interior Architecture and Furniture Design: Herman Verkerk
Textile and Fashion: Mark van Vorstenbos (per 1 February), Gerrit Uittenbogaard (acting head)

The heads of the master programmes are:

ArtScience: Taco Stolk
Artistic Research: Janice McNab
Industrial Design: Maaike Roozenburg
Interior Architecture: Hans Venhuizen
Non-Linear Narrative: Roosje Klap & Niels Schrader
Photography & Society: Lotte Sprengers & Rob Hornstra
Type and Media: Erik van Blokland

Lector Art Theory & Practice: Janneke Wesseling
Lector Design: Alice Twemlow

Head preparatory courses Fine Art and Design: Zanne Zwart
Coordinator of Academy-wide Education: Niki van Strien

General organisation

Head of Operations: Gytha Coleman
Head of Student Administration: Joop van Pijkeren (as of 1-4-2019: Alex Kortekaas)
Head of Technical & Digital Services and Library: Bart Vissers
Head of ICT (University of the Arts): Rob Tesselaar (a.i.), (as of 1-2-2019: Wim Harrewijn)
Head of Housing and Facility Services: Lilian du Chatenier, Ferry Lemmers (acting head)
Head of Quality Assurance: Leo Capel
Head of Marketing and Communications: Nienke van Beers
Head of International Affairs: Aparajita Dutta
Controller/Head of Finance (University of the Arts): Gerard Zanoni
Head of Personnel and Organisation (University of the Arts): Margot Bebseler