New network group among European Art Schools - ETHO

14 januari 2020

The European Art Schools network ELIA has joint forces with the technical network group ETHO, by signing a memorandum of understanding on January 9, 2020.

On Thursday 9 January, a Memorandum of Cooperation was signed, which confirms the collaboration of the ETHO network group with ELIA, the European network that provides a dynamic platform for professional exchange and development in higher arts education. ETHO is the network of technical staff of international Art Schools that was founded in 2016. ETHO aims to advance hands-on learning and innovation in all artistic disciplines through an inclusive community. Bart Vissers, Head of Technical Services and the Library at the Royal Academy of Art (KABK), The Hague started this network together with RCA in 2016.

With over 250 members in 47 countries, ELIA represents some 300.000 students in all art disciplines. ELIA and ETHO share the aim to empower higher arts education and facilitate the exchange of good practices.

ETHO holds two annual events: one, enabling technical staff to share knowledge across the network; and the second aimed at technical leaders focused on the strategic development of technical services.

4th ETHO Annual Meeting in Hannover

The next ETHO event takes place during the annual ELIA Meeting, 26-27 March 2020 in Hannover (Germany). This event will be aimed specifically at (workshop) technicians at art schools throughout Europe.

More info: 4th ETHO Annual Meeting in Hannover, entitled ‘Testing Lab – Let Material be First’ - Registration is now open!

All ETHO events and knowledge sharing will be accessible to all ELIA members.
See the full list of past ETHO events.

ETHO group
ETHO group members

Core Group Members of ETHO

Abid Qayum, Royal College of Art (Chair of ETHO Core Group)
Tapio Koskinen, Aalto University School of Arts, Design and Architecture (Networking and Communication)
Bart Vissers, Royal Academy of Art, The Hague
Aldje van Meer, Willem de Kooning Academy
Liesbeth van der Geest, Willem de Kooning Academy
Maria Angela Algar Peter, Zurich University of the Arts
Noesjka Klomberg, St. Joost Academy