Anne Geene wins the Volkskrant Beeldende Kunst Prijs 2018

26 February 2018

Former KABK Photography student Anne Geene won the Volkskrant Visual Art Award 2018. The jury chaired by Mrs Jet Bussemaker, former minister of Culture, announced the winner during a TV broadcast of Kunstuur (AVROTROS) on 25 February.

The Volkskrant Visual Art Award has been awarded since 2006 to a young artist under the age of 36. The list of former laureates comprises artists such as Femmy Otten (KABK alumna Fine Arts), Guido van der Werve and Floris Kaayk. The eleventh edition of the Award is a joint effort of AVROTROS, the Volkskrant, In4Art and the Stedelijk Museum Schiedam, where the work of all five nominees will be presented in an exhibition, on view until 15 April.

The five nominated young artists are Feiko Beckers, Anne Geene, Rosa Johanna, Benjamin Li and Kevin Osepa.