Annually, theory teachers from various departments of the Royal Academy of Art nominate their department’s best thesis for the thesis award. The award consists of a cash prize of 500 euro. Since 2016 two prizes are awarded, one for a bachelor thesis and one for a master thesis.

An independent and annually changing jury decides on the winning thesis award. The jury consists of a chair, an artist or designer teaching at the academy and/or the previous winner of the thesis award and an external member.