Furniture Design students develop the Jos Brink and the Joke Smit Awards 2019

11 February 2019

In reply to a call from the Ministry of Education, Culture and Science (Ministerie van OCW), five 4th year Interior Architecture and Furniture Design students (Furniture Design specialisation) have been working on concepts for a new design for the Jos Brink award for LHBT emancipation and the Joke Smit award for gender equality.

On 22 January Ingrid van Engelshoven, Minister of Education, Culture and Science, appointed the winners of the final designs.

The concepts of Erik van Schaften and Xenia Léonie Weulersse were selected to be further developed in the actual artworks. Both prizes are initiatives of the Directorate of Emancipation of the Dutch Ministry of Education, Culture and Science. The Jos Brink prize will be awarded on 19 May at the Stadsschouwburg in Haarlem.