Beeldende Kunst studenten presenteren pre-eindexamenexpo ‘Note To Self'

Graduating students from the Fine Arts department of the Royal Academy of Art, The Hague KABK (class 2019/2020) present their work in a preview exhibition under the title 'Note to Self' before their final graduation in the summer of 2020.


Cognitive dissonance. It is a state of mental discomfort when a person holds two or more contradicting beliefs, and it’s felt especially when new evidence clashes with already-held values. We think that in today´s world it is more present than ever before, and therefore just as relevant.

Connectivity and access to all information did not lead to widespread truth, rather it lead to confusion and uncertainty. Instead of our views becoming more open to different ways of thinking, they have become more radical and polarised. A dichotomous way of thinking isn’t representative of reality, yet we see just that becoming more prevalent all over the world.

This pre-exam show will aim to instigate this concept in exhibition format. It will showcase contradicting sides forced to occupy a shared space, along with the ensued consequences.

We want to expose people to varying, contrasting, juxtaposing, artworks and activities. From silent workshops, to loud game shows, to yoga exercises, to debates and cooking, we want to subject our audience to different wavelengths, to different points which don’t necessarily add up into a neat conclusion.

By introducing people into such a place of conflict and confusion we want them to reflect about what it means to know anything.

Participating students

Ingrid Adriaans, Maartje Balkestein, Danny Choi, Alexandra Dalavagka, Erlend Evensen, Shar Felicia, Shantell Hassan, Hun Hyeon, Gavin Jankman, Karin Kytökangas, Merel van Bochove, Eva van Essen, Anna Stina Eyjólfsdóttir, Filip Groubnov, Liza Houben, Mirka Kachrimanidou, Erik Kamaletdinov, Anastasia Kiseleva, Narges Mohammadi, Elena Kostenko, Nikolas Magkriotis, Giulietta Pastorino Verastegui, Hannah Reede, Karolina Rupp, Eva Sigurðardóttir, Suyoung Yang, Yeseo Cho, Merel Erperss Rooijaards, Laurence Herfs, Isa van Lier, Alexandra Louka, Christian Roncea, Sona Sahakian, Simon Sjöholm, Inhye Song, Jessi Tabares Dorado, Annemiek van der Wilt, Rosa Zangenberg, Yunwei Zhang, Marianne Nannings.



13 december 2019 19.00 - 15 december 2019 20.00


Helena van Doeverenplantsoen 3, 2512 ZB The Hague

Meer info

Friday 13 December 19:00 - 23:00
Visiting hours:
Saturday 14 December 14:00 - 22:00
Sunday 15 December 14:00 - 20:00